Language selection


Lead Authors - Canada in an International Context

Photo of James P. Bruce James P. Bruce (O.C., FRSC) served in increasingly responsible positions at Environment Canada, including as first Director, Canada Centre for Inland Waters, Burlington and for 8 years as an Assistant Deputy Minister for Environmental Management and Atmospheric Environment. He later became Director of Technical Cooperation and Acting Deputy Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), Geneva.  He subsequently chaired the UN's Scientific and Technical Committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction and co-chaired the Economics and Social Dimensions Working Group of IPCC.  Currently he is Canadian Policy Representative, Soil and Water Conservation Society, chair of the Expert Panel on Groundwater for the Council of Canadian Academies and a member of the International Upper Great Lakes Study Board (IJC).

Photo of Erik HaitesErik Haites holds a B.S. in mathematics from the University of Alberta, an MBA from McGill University, and an M.A. and Ph.D. in economics from Purdue University. He has been involved with the IPCC as lead author, contributor and co-editor since 1995.  He contributed to the design of a domestic greenhouse gas trading program for the U.K. He was a research collaborator domestic greenhouse gas emissions trading projects in the U.S. and has assisted the UNFCCC Secretariat on issues related to the Kyoto mechanisms. He has participated in the OECD Annex I Expert Group work on emissions trading, the Climate Change secretariat methodological work on activities implemented jointly, and the UNCTAD-Earth Council Emissions Trading Policy Forum. He studied the implications for Canada of international emissions trading, contributed to design of a pilot greenhouse gas offsets program for British Columbia, and analysed alternative designs for greenhouse gas emissions trading in North America.

Contributing Authors

Aaron Cosbey (Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction)
John Drexhage (International Institute for Sustainable Development)
Terry Fenge (Inuit Circumpolar Conference)
Paul Kovacs (Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction)
Gordon A. McBean (University of Western Ontario)

Page details

Date modified: