Language selection


Geological Survey of Canada: Directors and program leads

The Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) is Canada’s national organization for geoscientific research and information. Our scientists run programs and labs across the country. Below is the contact information for our director general, regional directors and program leads.

Our Science Laboratory Network includes five lab groups across Canada, each of which has its own area of lab-based research expertise. You can read about our labs and the earth material collection here. If you want to connect with other geophysicists, geochemists, seismologists, mathematical geologists and more, consult the directory of scientists or the GCdirectory.

Director general and regional directors

Director General's Office

Daniel Lebel

Atlantic division

Sonya Dehler
Director, GSC Atlantic

Calgary division

Michel Plouffe
Acting Director, GSC Calgary

Central division

Geneviève Marquis
Director, GSC Central Canada

Northern division

David Mate
Director, GSC Northern Canada

Pacific division

Sonia Talwar
Director, GSC Pacific

Quebec division

Réjean Couture
Director, GSC Quebec


Program leads

Climate Change Geoscience Program (CCGP)

Nicole Couture

Environmental Geoscience Program (EGP)

Gilles Cotteret

GEM-GeoNorth (GEM)

Michel Plouffe

Geoscience for New Energy Supply (GNES)

Carl Ozyer

Groundwater Geoscience Program (GGP)

Eric Boisvert

Impact Assessment Service (IAS)

Danny Wright

Marine Conservation Targets (MCT)

Barbara Medioli

Marine Geoscience for Marine Spatial Planning (MGMSP)

Calvin Campbell

Public Safety Geoscience Program (PSGP)

Malaika Ulmi

Science Laboratory Network (SLN)

Edris Madadian

Targeted Geoscience Initiative (TGI)

Eric Potter

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS)

Mary-Lynn Dickson

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: